News & Events

The SALA Annual Meeting will be held on October 28th, 2016 in Foley Alabama. Learn more...

SALA Awards

The Society of Alabama Archivists is offering two award opportunities.

Marvin Yeomans Whiting Award

The Marvin Yeomans Whiting Award is given each year to an individual, organization or institution that has made a significant contribution to the preservation and dissemination of local history in Alabama. The award recognizes the preservation of historic documents and oral history but not buildings, artifacts or historic sites. Nominations for the award may come from SALA members and the general public. It is not required that the nominees be SALA members. The award is presented at the SALA annual meeting.

Marvin Yeomans Whiting was the Birmingham Public Library’s first archivist (1976-1996), a founding member of the Society of Alabama Archivists and a pioneer in the professionalization of archives in Alabama. The Birmingham Public Library co-sponsors the award.

Download the Nomination Form

Susan Bzdell Student Travel Award

The Susan Bzdell Student Travel Award is given every two years to assist students with travel expenses while attending the Southern Archives Conference.

Susan Bzdell served as Archivist for Morgan County, Alabama for ten years and made a significant contribution toward the preservation of historic records in the county. A graduate of the University of Alabama in Huntsville and Florida State University, she had previously worked as an assistant archivist in Limestone County, Alabama.

» Return to SALA Home Page